Carolina-Virginias Telephone Membership Association

Comprised of the Rural Telephone Companies in
North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia

Carolina- Virginias Telephone Membership Association, Inc. (CVTMA) was incorporated on May 27, 1957 as a non- profit, tri- state trade association for the rural telephone companies in North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia. The mission of the association (CVTMA) is to provide education and dissemination of information to managers and directors of member companies. CVTMA’s membership is comprised of the rural telephone companies in North Carolina, Virginia and West Virginia, as well as businesses (associate members) that provide goods and services to the telecommunications industry.


ATMC Receives National Recognition as a Smart Rural Community Provider

Pictured accepting the award are ATMC Board of Directors – (front row) Whitney King, Buster Dowless, Doug Hawes (Board President); (back row) Al Parker, Randy Hardee and Jamie Milliken.

Shallotte, NC – ATMC announced today that it has received a national award as a Smart Rural Community provider from the NTCA – The Rural Broadband Association, a designation which recognizes the efforts of rural telecommunications providers who deliver technologies that make rural communities dynamic places to live and do business. The goal of the initiative is to foster the development of smart communities throughout rural America by recognizing trailblazers and providing resources to assist broadband providers and connected industries.
“ATMC is a prime example of the power of a broadband connection and a steadfast commitment to growth and prosperity,” said Shirley Bloomfield, NTCA Chief Executive Officer. “Not only are the people of ATMC charting a path to a more prosperous future in their local communities, they are also creating a road map for many more communities across the country to follow suit. I commend the people of ATMC for these extraordinary efforts.”
Over the years, ATMC has helped to bring fiber optic technology to all Brunswick County public schools, local health care facilities, the Brunswick County 911 Communications Center and more. ATMC’s ongoing network upgrade and expansion project was a major factor in its selection for the prestigious award. ATMC has provided fiber optic communications services to residential neighborhoods in growing areas of the county as well as to the business districts of Leland and Shallotte. ATMC is now working to provide fiber optic services to residents and businesses in Oak Island and Ocean Isle Beach. By 2021, the cooperative plans to install fiber in all key business districts of Brunswick County. Through its Project 2019, the cooperative has also begun the process of upgrading nearly 4,000 rural members to have Internet speeds of up to 500 Mbps. Read More…

ATMC Board Names Keith Holden General Manager/CEO

Shallotte, NC — The Board of Directors for Atlantic Telephone Membership Corporation (ATMC) announced today that Keith Holden has been named General Manager and Chief Executive Officer of the cooperative, following the retirement of M. O’Neal Miller, Jr., who held the position since March of 2016.

A Brunswick County native, Holden has been employed at ATMC since 1998 serving most recently as Vice President of Information Systems. Holden obtained his bachelor’s degree in computer engineering from North Carolina State University and holds a master’s degree in business administration from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington.
Read More…

CVTMA Celebrates New Officers

Incoming President William (Joe) Allen of Randolph Communications accepted the gavel from outgoing President Lyman Horne of Star Communications at the Association’s Annual Conference held in June, 2017.

CVTMA Pays Tribute to Outgoing President Lyman Horne

At its Annual Conference held in June the CVTMA honored outgoing President Lyman Horne with “Lyman Horne Day Breakfast” which included a musical tribute by Jimmy Travis, and recognitions by Star Communications Board President Robert Hester and incoming CVTMA President Joe Allen.

Passing of the Gavel

Incoming President William (Joe) Allen of Randolph Communications accepted the gavel from outgoing President Lyman Horne.

Carolina-Virginias Telephone Membership Association

Contact us and will respond to you as soon as possible.

Copyright 2019 Carolina-Virginias Telephone Membership Corporation
Site Design - TriCounty Broadband and Design by Dawn Inc.
Site managed by CVTMA and hosted by TriCounty Broadband